Tier 1 And Tier 2 Work Permit Visas- Uk

United Kingdom

Due to the significant lack of skilled doctors, nurses, and associated professionals, a special immigration category was made for the workforce in the field of Medicine. Now, these are supplemented by a new immigration system.

Professionals in this particular field come from every part of the world to work in the UK, which is accomplished through UK’s five-tier point based system. For medical professionals, there are two specific tiers to be familiar with: Tier-1 and Tier-2.


What is Tier1?  

Tier 1 is eligible for entrepreneurs, investors, and a small number of people in the visa category who have ‘Exceptional Talent’. With a Tier 1 visa, one can legally stay in the UK for five years or more. Because of this visa, one can apply for settlement in the UK.

The Points Based System

The points of Tier 1 in each of its category are earned according to three sets of criteria:

  • Criteria specific to each category, for example, age and past experience.
  • Proficiency in English.
  • Proof of funds by the individual

Fund Maintenance Requirements for candidates:

[table id=18 /]

Tier 1 (Investor) migrants do not essentially need to meet the fund maintenance requirement. An individual, who has £1,000,000 available to devote to the UK, will be having more than sufficient funds to afford the living expenses for themselves and the family.

Other Tier 1 immigrants will be required to pass the minimum benchmark in each segment, mentioned above, to gain entry into the UK. The individuals will be asked to prove that they can meet the requirements again when re-applying for a Tier 1 visa

Documents showcasing that an individual can attain the required points must be submitted. As per the Immigration and Asylum Act of 2006, migrants will have no right of appeal when they are denied entry, so it is important to make sure that documents are placed in order while applying.

What are the types of Tier 1 visas?

Tier 1 Entrepreneurs (Required investment- £50,000 to £200,000)

A foreign business owner who is NOT a member of the European Union, and who desires to run his/her business in the UK, should consider the Tier 1 Entrepreneur visa. The Entrepreneur Tier 1 visa will help if the applicant wishes to invest money in the UK by becoming a part-owner, or wants to take over a business or even start a new venture.

One must score 95 points under the point based system of Tier 1. The point distribution is as follows:

[table id=19 /] 

Tier 1 Investors (Required investment- £1,000,000)

An individual, who has an affluent background and wants to live in the UK, must consider taking the Tier 1 visa. The individual must acquire 75 points under Tier 1 based point system. You will score these points only if you prove of the following:

  • The individual has at least £1,000,000 of disposable funds to invest in the UK


  • The individual has £2,000,000 or more in personal assets with a loan of more than £1,000,000 to invest in the UK.

The investors in this category will be exempted from showing any proof of English Proficiency and any documental proof to support themselves and their dependants.

Tier 1 – Exceptional Talent

This visa will allow the individual to live and work in the UK if he/she has exceptional talent in arts or sciences. In order to qualify for this visa, 75 points are required. You gain 75 points if you are endorsed by a designated and competent body which will certify that the individual is internationally recognized as a world leader in his/her field or that the individual is someone with the potential of becoming one.

There are four Designated Competent Bodies, which are national societies for the Arts and Sciences. It is extremely difficult to qualify for a visa in this category. Only 1000 of these Exceptional Talent visas can be issued in any one year. The individual does not need a job offer or a sponsor in order to be successful, and he/she is free to seek employment anywhere in the UK.

Tier 1 – Graduate Entrepreneur

The Tier 1 Graduate Entrepreneur category allows graduates who are identified by any of the UK universities as having world-class entrepreneurial skills, to apply, and to stay in the UK after graduation. The individual must score 95 points under the Tier 1 points-based system. 

Renewal of Leave under Tier 1

Tier 1 – General Category

Even though this facility is closed for new applicants, applicants from Bulgaria and Romania can still attain this service.

Subsequent renewals of leave under the Investor, Entrepreneur, and Exceptional Talent sub-categories:

It can be granted for two years for eligible visa holders. It is not possible to apply for an extension of stay under the Post-Study Work sub-category. Individuals in the UK under the Post-Study Work subcategory who want to remain in the UK require switching to another sub-category or a different tier.

After five years, the individual can apply for settlement; also known as indefinite leave to remain in the country. Time spent under the Tier 1 Post-Study Work category does NOT count towards the five-year requirement while applying for indefinite leave to remain.

There are certain requirements and limits when renewing a Tier 1 visa. Migrants must apply under the same sub-category under which they originally had applied, and must be able to demonstrate that they are still able to pass the points-based test for that category.

Entrepreneurs must show that an investment in the business is done and registration of the business has been done within three months of entry. Business Immigrants must be actively occupied in respective businesses and should have created at least 2 full-time jobs which last for at least a year.

Investors must prove that £750,000 was invested within three months of entry in the country and that the investment is maintained throughout the period of leave.


Migrants who are granted leave in the UK under this visa, are able to bring their dependants (children under 18 years of age, spouses, civil partners, same-sex partners, and unmarried partners) only if they can support their stay in the country.

What is Tier 2 Visa?

It is the most important entry route for the applicants who are moving to the UK as skilled workers and are the citizens outside the European Economic Area. To apply under this scheme one must have a job offer and a certificate of sponsorship from the UK with validity License of Tier 2. All the requirements are to be fulfilled before the application is submitted under the Tier 2 visa.

 Categories of Tier 2:

  • General: for the people who are arriving to the United Kingdom with a job offer to fulfill the lack of skilled workers category. Currently, the maximum cap in this category is 20,700. People who make £150,000 a year or above are not considered under the cap.
  • Intra Company Transfers: for the employees of multi-national companies who get transferred by an overseas employer to a skilled job in a UK-based branch of the organization.
  • Sports People: for elite sportspeople and instructors whose service will make a significant contribution to the development of their sport at the highest level.
  • Ministers of Religion: for the people who are coming to fill a vacancy as a Minister of Religion, Missionary or Member of a Religious Order.

To qualify for the Tier 2 (General) or the Tier 2 (Intra Company Transfer) visa, an acquired job of a skill level of S/NVQ level 3 or above as indicated (in the codes) of practice, is relevant to the sector and to the job.

Ministers of religion and sports folk on temporary assignments should apply for entry under Tier 5 for Temporary Workers (Tier 5 creative and sporting) since this visa is valid for 12 months. Tier 5 religious visas can last for up to two years. Some people who are in the UK with other UK visas can apply under the Tier 2 General category.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply